Quantcast

Detecting DLNA server on my Revue

Discussion in 'Google TV FAQs' started by JimMariner, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. JimMariner

    JimMariner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SE Florida, Logitech Revue
    My DLNA server does not show up in my Logitech Media Player sources?


    If a source or media server is not available in Logitech Media Player:

    1. From the Google TV Home screen, go to Applications > Logitech Media player.
    2. Click on Rescan Sources located at the bottom of the screen.
    If the DLNA server is not detecting please check the following:

    • DLNA server is powered on.
    • Verify that your media server is a DLNA-compatible device.
    • DLNA server is connected to the same network as your Revue, using a wired or wireless connection.
    • DLNA server is configured to share content on the network.
    • Check security settings (Firewalls).
    • Enable UDP on your router

    Source
     
  2. Hefe

    Hefe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you HAVE to have a DLNA server, or can the unit scan attached drives and folders for files like many other media players?
     
  3. JimMariner

    JimMariner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SE Florida, Logitech Revue
    Ask me after my Revue gets deleivered :p, until then, I have no idea. I want to know too.
     
  4. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Anything new on this? Do I have to run Twonkyvision or TVersity to get this feature?
     
  5. funkybrunk

    funkybrunk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Revue does not support network drives (like Boxee does). You will need to run a DLNA server until they come up with a better solution, which sucks IMO.
     
  6. Hefe

    Hefe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That stinks. I wonder if that's something that could be done by an app. Once the app development kicks in, maybe we'll see media player applications that can do more.
     
  7. Jabronie Man

    Jabronie Man New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    I have Windows 7 (not sure what you're using) and I just configured my PC to share media on the network and the Revue picked it up fine.
     
  8. Hefe

    Hefe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The issue is that my media is stored on a NAS. (Network Attached Storage) It's not a Windows machine, it's just a network drive that the PCs in my network can access. It's actually an UnRaid box that I built. Very nice for archiving large amounts of data and media. I used to use a SageTV media extender that could simply see the files on the NAS and play them directly. No need to go through a PC or a server of any kind. I was so hoping we'd get the same functionality out of the Google TV box.
     
  9. nagmier

    nagmier New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Nope. Looks like your going to have to setup a DLNA server from what I've gathered at least at this pointI'm sure once the SDK comes out we'll get a samba/file sharing app
     
  10. goku31640

    goku31640 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Samba will definitely be a possibility, because boxee confirmed it in a questionnaire, saying that they are going to create a boxee app for google tv, and it uses smb and network shares.

    Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using Tapatalk
     
  11. JimMariner

    JimMariner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SE Florida, Logitech Revue
    I have had my Revue now for just about a week. I use NAS units for storing my media. From My Home Screen, I go into "Applications/Logitech Media Player/" My network servers, DTV DVRs, Other computers all show up in Networked Sources. No the DTV HDs/DVRs are not accessible using this method.

    I can choose my Dlink NAS device and navigate right to my Media of choice.

    Some avi's work, some don't. Probably the avi format is the problem.
    mp4's play

    MPGs don't play yet,
    It doesn't play VOB files.


    You go through the files on your NAS device just as you do on a PS3.
    No extra software is needed to make the Revue play these. (the ones it does play that is )
     
  12. Hefe

    Hefe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, well that's pretty good news. I'd like VOB files to work, but I suppose I could re-encode MKV files. The Revue is supposed to support that.
     
  13. JimMariner

    JimMariner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SE Florida, Logitech Revue
    The media player in the Revue does say its currently in Beta, hopefully when the final release comes out it will support many more video formats.
     
  14. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I have an older Buffalo Linkstation NAS that I installed Twonkyvision on, and I know they semi-support (no official, but via forum) NAS installs and installers, so DLNA is still a possibility even on NAS.
     
  15. rchrds

    rchrds New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm currently running a Synology DS410 NAS storage box that comes with a DLNA server as part of the box firmware. I just got my revue working tonight (logged on using it right now) and it can see my files on the NAS box as long as they are in the usual folders: music/video/pictures per what I assume to be the DLNA files structure. The revue can navigate the folders and see the files- and of course all my DVDs were ripped onto the NAS box as .vob files, and I cant watch one of them. FRUSTRATING. Will be waiting to see what happens with the apps development.
     
  16. lunapark

    lunapark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    My Revue find my two Windows 7 PCs just fine, but cant enter them. Access denied.
    Where do I allow this?

    I tried installing PlayOn on one of the PC's which gave me acces to my local files.
    However I can only see the folders in Movie-folder, none of my avi-files are being shown.

    Pictures works fine.

    Ehat can I do ?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

logitech media server dlna sources

,

media server for logitech revue