Quantcast

Controlling GoogleTV using HTTP

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by Moskus, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. Moskus

    Moskus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this possible? I have a Vizio Co-Star connected to the TV and a home automation system running (HomeSeer). The Co-Star is able to run HStouch, even in 1920x1080 resolution, and from that I can controll my house.

    However, I would also like to have it the other way around; having HomeSeer controlling the Co-Star. Preferably using http commands of any kind, like http : // ip_to_costar/run?app=WidgetsDisplay


    Is this possible or am I dreaming?
     
  2. mcd2000

    mcd2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    Well, you can write an app for that. :)
     
  3. Moskus

    Moskus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perhaps YOU can, but I can't. ;)

    If only Android supported .NET...
     
  4. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
  5. mcd2000

    mcd2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
  6. Moskus

    Moskus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn't need to be through Bluetooth. I actually prefer it if it wasn't. But the Co-Star does have an ethernet connection, I'd like to utilize that.
     
  7. drhill

    drhill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What a horrible thing to wish for. ;)
     
  8. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    If any control of the Co-Star by HomeSeer is going to be possible, I would think it will have to be by Bluetooth. I don't know if it is possible or not but control over Wi-Fi or ethernet seems out of the realm of possible to me.
     
  9. qdewolf

    qdewolf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Various IOS and Android apps already control it through HTTP using the network. There is an app called chromemote that runs in the chrome browser.
     
  10. mcd2000

    mcd2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    Chromemote uses Anymote protocol.
     
  11. Moskus

    Moskus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Often functionality like this is achieved using a simple web server, and instead of serving files, just run the specified app or access the specified setting. I do this using a Netduino (a .NET featured Arduino "clone"), and the Raspberry Pi has similar functionality.

    If there's a way to do using telnet or SSH, I could also use that.


    If Bluetooth is the only way to go, then it's not worth the time.


    Thanks for the tip! :)

    Great! Available protocols makes integration easier... ;)
     
  12. mcd2000

    mcd2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Share This Page