Quantcast

Connecting to storage device through Revue

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by rson, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. rson

    rson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Is it possible to connect to an external hard drive plugged into the revue through the network?
     
  2. sparkyscott21

    sparkyscott21 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Mich.
  3. rson

    rson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    The HD itself is connected to the Revue, not a PC that I can stream the media from. I only have laptops in my house, so I was hoping to be able to connect to the HD through the Revue...
     
  4. TheSanTechnologist

    TheSanTechnologist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not in its current form. I imagine this will change in later versions.
     
  5. sparkyscott21

    sparkyscott21 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Mich.
    So, you believe that a s/w update would most likely be the ticket,
    rather than hardware?? That's the way I'm seeing it at...
     
  6. TheSanTechnologist

    TheSanTechnologist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't see any reason that it would take different HW, more likely it will take an application from the market. This application, Estrongs File Manager allows you to explore Android Phone contents over the lan already, so likely it would allow you to do the same once the APP market is available for the GTV platform.
     
  7. sparkyscott21

    sparkyscott21 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Mich.
    Makes sense to me.
    Everything is just a matter of time.
    Just getting other opinions.
     
  8. galfert

    galfert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Since you have laptops then another option is to get a NAS device that supports DLNA...then both the laptops and Google TV can access the drive at the same time. Another option is to get a Router like the Cisco/Linksys E3000 or E4200 that has a built in USB port and UPnP AV sharing and plug in a hard drive to the USB port of these routers.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to access logitech revue storage devices