Quantcast

Co-Star with Bose hts

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by lartomar2002, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. lartomar2002

    lartomar2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anyone passing the Co - Star through a Bose home theater system then to your TV? With that arrangement I experience occasional "fluttering, flickering or wrinkles" (I'm not sure of the correct a/v lingo) or other usual artifacts on your TV?
     
  2. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Please explain how you connected the Co-Star to your Bose and then your TV? What connections/cables are used?
     
  3. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63

    A. On Bose side,

    Assuming you have 5 speakers.

    (temporarily) Try this, - set menu options,


    • Sound > “Original” (instead of “Recommended” or “Alternative”) to avoid simulated surround sound.
    • Audio Compression > Off

    • Speakers > Surround (5)
    • TV Speakers > Off

    • Screensaver > Off

    • Source Overscan > Off (to check flickering issue)

    (or try it again with Source Overscan turned “On”)



    • Source Overscan > On (to check flickering issue)
    • Video Output > 720p (to check flickering issue)


    B. On Co-Star side,
    (temporarily) Change the video display resolution to 720p (from 1080p / auto). (to check flickering issue)
    • Press[V] button > Settings > Video > Video Resolution > 720p (reboot CoStar-box, TV & AVR)



    C. Replace 2 hdmi cables (Costar > AVR & AVR > TV) - take a look at this link “standard” vs. “high-speed” HDMI cable, to get some ideas – click here.
    .
    .
     
  4. lartomar2002

    lartomar2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All connections are hdmi.
     
  5. lartomar2002

    lartomar2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Thanks I will be trying these later today.
     
  6. lartomar2002

    lartomar2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only thing I did was to replace the HDMI cable between the Co - Star and the Bose and so far no more flickering. :D This was really strange like nothing I had ever seen before. The flickering was not the whole screen only a section of it and not in the same place, it would move around.
     
  7. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Good.:)

    Well, at some point you may have to replace all your (standard) HDMI cables that aren’t labeled “high-speed HDMI cable” for many reasons (& peace of mind especially w/AVR in the mix). You’ll also see significant improvement in PQ/colors.


    have fun :D
     
  8. lartomar2002

    lartomar2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ordering new HDMI cables for all connections is on my list. I was checking Monoprice for HDMI cables that have a metal net jacket (to prevent RF lnterference) but, all they have are the nylon net jackets. Do you know where I might find them at a competitive price?
     
  9. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    For competitive prices, probably someone here may have a better suggestion. I just picked up mine from a retail store (& yes, i'm not a good shopper ).:D
     
  10. lartomar2002

    lartomar2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got my high speed HDMI cables and man what a difference. :D
     
  11. lartomar2002

    lartomar2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the flickering came back after I was watching a video through Co-Star/Chrome/Playon and I switched to Live TV. If I unplug the HDMI in/out from the Co-Star and at the same time unplug the power for about 30 sec and the plug the HDMI cables back in and the plug the power back in the flickering/artifacts disappear.
     
  12. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Well, first try to do it as described below (to reset all processors), and then see how long it will take before the issue starts again (time it).

    • Resetting all A/V & network connected devices - click here
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

bosehts