Quantcast

*** Co-Star Tips ***

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by revue5, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
  2. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Page1 Co-Star .


    Notes,
    * edit in-progress ...
    * "Tips" in "Gray " ... for update ...




    link .*** Co-Star Tips ***






    link .
    Remote Control
    * "Tips" in "Gray color " are untested yet.... to be updated ...






    ^TOP


    link .
    Keyboard



    link .
    Supported File Format


    ^TOP



    link .
    USB Drive


    ^TOP



    link .
    IR


    ^TOP


    link .
    HDMI-CEC



    ^TOP


    link .
    Video


    ^TOP




    link .
    Audio




    ^TOP




    link .
    AV Receivers - Video

    ^TOP


    link .
    AV Receivers - Audio

    ^TOP


    Notes,
    * right-click on "link" to copy that link location.
    * "Tips" in "Gray color " are untested yet.... to be updated ...
    * edit in-progress ...


    hope that helps... :)



    Page1 Co-Star
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2014
  3. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Page2 Co-Star .

    ^TOP


    link .
    Settings menu


    ^TOP



    link .
    Netflix
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  4. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Page3 Co-Star .


    ^TOP

    link .
    Modem & Router

    ^TOP

    link .
    #Modem Only


    ^TOP


    link .
    Troubleshooting

    ^TOP


    link .
    STB troubleshooting


    ^TOP

    link .
    TV troubleshooting



    ^TOP


    link .
    Info Guide



    ^TOP

    link .
    Internal linking

    ^TOP



    Notes,
    * right-click on "link" to copy that link location

    * "Tips" in "Gray color "
    are untested yet.... to be updated ...
    * edit in-progress ...

    * Please consider these Tips obsolete if its not updated within a reasonable time frame.

    hope that helps... :)



    Page3
    Co-Star
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  5. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    link .


    How to setup true 5.1 audio for Co-Star streaming apps?

    ----------------------------------------------
    link .

    [​IMG]
    Figure (7)
    Co-Star > HDMI > AV Receiver > HDMI > TV

    ----------------------------------------------
    link .

    [​IMG]
    Figure (8)
    Cable/DVR > HDMI > Co-Star > HDMI > AV Receiver > HDMI > TV

    ----------------------------------------------

    [​IMG]
    From "Co-Star manual" page (20)

    ----------------------------------------------

    [​IMG]

    From "Co-Star manual" page (39)

    ----------------------------------------------

    1. Connect setup your devices as shown in Figure (7) or Figure (8) diagram (see above),
    2. Set the Co-Star "HDMI Audio settings" to "Auto" (see Co-Star's manual Page 39 above),

    • Press [V] button > select "Settings" > "Audio" > HDMI Audio Out > select "Auto"

    Make sure,




    Q&A: If my AV Receiver is capable of decoding all audio formats (e.g., DD+, DD, etc..) and I'm streaming from the Co-Star (native) app (e.g., Netflix, Amazon, Vudu, etc..)


    • Is the TV required to support "ARC" (Audio Return Channel)? NO
    • Is the AV Receiver required to support "ARC" (Audio Return Channel)? NO
    • Is optical cable required? NO
    • Is Plex app required? NO

    FYI,

    • Vudu HDX titles are encoded in (7.1DD+) or (5.1DD+) - very few titles are encoded in (5.1DD)
    • Amazon HD titles are encoded in (5.1DD) - some titles are encoded in (2ch PCM).
    • Netflix Super HD titles are encoded in (5.1DD+) - some titles are encoded in (2ch PCM).






    Additional info's,

    * "ARC" (Audio Return Channel) is one of "HDMI 1.4 specification" features. It basically eliminates the use of a separate digital audio (optical or coaxial) cable to send audio signal from a TV to an AV Receiver (AVR).

    * Both the TV and the AV Receiver must support "ARC" (currently not all do).

    * Mostly, "Arc" is to pass audio signal from the TV's internal tuner (or Smart Apps).

    However, a TV supports "ARC" feature [ARC/hdmi-input2] can act as an hdmi-switch-hub so that several external hdmi-source-devices (e.g., cable/Sat box, streaming player.. etc..) can be connected directly to the TV hdmi-ports (e.g., "hdmi-input1" & "hdmi-input2").
    [ARC/hdmi-input2] will act as audio-out-port that can be connected to a Soundbar (or an AVR). The selected hdmi- source-input on the TV will pass audio signal from the source-devices (i.e., plugged into "hdmi-input1") to the Soundbar (or the AVR) via [ARC/hdmi-input2] over hdmi cable.

    i.e.,
    External Source-Device > HDMI cable > TV [hdmi-input1]
    TV [ARC/hdmi-input2] > HDMI cable > Soundbar (or AVR)

    But in most cases that type of ARC connection is not without (TVs) firmware surround sound limitation, such as:

    • TV may downmix 5.1 audio (that is coming from external source-device) to only Stereo (2ch PCM) audio signal, before it passes it to the Soundbar (or the AVR).
    • TV may not pass HD Audio/HF Audio (e.g., DTS-MA, True-HD, Dolby Digital Plus (DD+).


    * Digital Audio Optical Cable does not carry HD Audio/HF Audio signals (e.g., DTS-MA, True-HD, Dolby Digital Plus (DD+).


    Note: if you connect your Google TV box directly to the TV hdmi-input port, Netflix app will only be available in stereo sound (& not true surround sound).

    Unless your connection as in "Figure (1)" and your Google TV box is capable of transcode Dolby Digital Plus (DD+) to either 5.1DD or 5.1PCM then passes the audio signal directly to the AV Receiver over an Optical cable. (see; Sony NSZ-GS7, Sony NSZ-GT1 & Revue).

    In short, try to avoid using "ARC" (or TV optical-out port) to pass over 5.1 audio signals. Check out "Figure (1)" thru (6) "the for ideal hdmi setups.



    hope that helps :)
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  6. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    link .

    How to test the new Vudu & Amazon Apps Surround Sound (7.1/5.1DD+ & 5.1DD) on your Google TV set-top box with the latest update?
    .... (originally posted by revue5)


    Assuming your setup as in Figure (7) or Figure (8)


    Also, (for Vudu app) you have an AV Receiver capable of decoding Dolby Digital Plus (DD+).

    Note: if Netflix app on your Google TV set-top box produces true 5.1 surround sound (& your AV Receiver displays "3/2/0.1 Dolby+" or "Dolby Digital+") then Vudu app should do the same.



    Vudu app test :
    ---------------------
    You don't have to have a Vudu account to test this, btw.
    Just launch Vudu app, Select [browse] and stream 2 Min Preview.

    Try the following 3 titles from Vudu app:
    1. "Pirates of the Caribbean": On Strange Tides
    Select [browse] > search for the title "The Hobbit" > select 2 Min Preview > select HDX > try it.

    * This title is encoded in 7.1 Dolby Digital Plus (7.1DD+).
    * Your AV Receiver should display > "4/3/0.1 Dolby+" or "3/2/0.1 Dolby+" or "Dolby Digital+" (where "+" indicates "Plus").


    2. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
    Select [browse] > search for the title "The Hobbit" > select 2 Min Preview > select HDX > try it.

    * This title is encoded in 5.1 Dolby Digital Plus (5.1DD+).
    * Your AV Receiver should display "3/2/0.1 Dolby+" or "Dolby Digital+" (where "+" indicates "Plus").


    3. "Punsher: War Zone",
    Select [browse] > search for the title "Punsher" > select 2 Min Preview > select HDX > try it.

    * This title is encoded in 5.1 Dolby Digital (5.1DD).
    * Your AV Receiver should display "3/2/0.1 Dolby" or "Dolby Digital" (no "+"indicates legacy).


    Notes: see Co-Star audio settings > here




    Amazon app test:
    ------------------------
    Try the following titles from Amazon app:
    "Into the Wild" title:
    Launch Amazon app > search for the title "Into the Wild" > select [Watch trailer]

    Note: this title is encoded in 5.1 Dolby Digital (5.1DD).
    * Your AV Receiver should display "3/2/0.1 Dolby" or "Dolby Digital" (no "+"indicates legacy).


    Notes:
    see Co-Star audio settings > here



     
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  7. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  8. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    --------------------------------------
    If you have tips, share & Post....
     
  9. jim2011

    jim2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What does the grey text indicate? Specifically things like

    Tip: For Bit-stream 5.1 Dolby Digital (5.1DD/5.1DD+) from an App,
    • Press [V] button > select "Settings" > "Audio" > HDMI Audio Out > Auto


    I don't see that option on mine. There is no HDMI Audio Out option in the Audio menu. Is this in an upcoming firmware update?

     
  10. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Yes, Vizio should provide a firmware update to get setup option for audio output. I have the first gen boxes and that is a menu option, I have it set for Dolby Digital.
     
  11. Labmanmi

    Labmanmi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you think the Onlive controller would act as a USB receiver that might allow me to link the Logitech revue keyboard as well? I have one on the way and I have a Revue as well. Thank you!
     
  12. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Don’t think so.

    To pair Revue keyboard to Costar unit, the USB receiver has to be “Logitech unifying USB receiver” (for example, Logitech Mouse unifying USB receiver can be usd) – click here.

    I think Onlive controller has on-screen virtual keyboard if that would help.

    You probably trying to make a good use out of one usb port & workaround the unifying dongle :D
     
  13. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Zero chance, the Logitech unifying receiver is required and there is not a chance that Vizio or OnLive licensed that for use with that controller. It isn't impossible that Logitech will make a similar controller in the future that would use the unifying receiver but that isn't of much help now. As revue5 mentions, there are a lot of Logitech devices using the unifying receiver, it is a little USB receiver with a red logo on it. Not all Logitech USB receivers are unifying receivers.

    Logitech - What is Unifying?
     
  14. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    If you are going to continue to use the Revue and also use the Co-Star with a Logitech Revue K700 keyboard, you might want to consider buying a second keyboard. The last time I checked it was selling for $28 shipped new on eBay and that includes the unifying receiver. The Revue has the unifying receiver built in to the box.
     
  15. Rrok007

    Rrok007 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just kind of curious... I've seen a few mentions of pairing the Revue's keyboard with a unifying receiver and then using it with the Co-star. What about a basic mouse/keyboard combo with the unifying reciever? For example, I have the Logitech MK360 Mouse/Keyboard combo. Anyone know if something like this would work as an alternative to using the keyboard/touchpad on the Co-star's remote?

    If no one knows, I'll be happy to try it once I receive my Co-Star... which hopefully will be today or Monday.
     
  16. Rrok007

    Rrok007 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another thought, Anyone try using a 4-port hub with this yet? Like have a hub connected to the Co-Star, and then put a unifying receiver as well as having a USB thumb drive/external hard drive connected to the hub as well.
     
  17. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    A hub better work, one USB port isn't enough and I expect it will work just fine. I do believe your K360 keyboard will work although without the Google TV specific keys found on the K700 won't be a very good keyboard to use and some needed commands may not be available at all. I have the K350 and I love it for use with a PC, but not Google TV. I am typing on it right now just to show it can communicate with a Logitech Revue but will put it back with my laptop as soon as I finish the post, I am also using the M505 mouse with it. The mouse keyboard combination is responsive and works well, just not what I would use with Google TV.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  18. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    FYI, with one (the same) unifying receiver you can pair it with several unifying devices (mouse/keyboard... all pairing will be stored on that receiver) - see this link


    If you going to try it, try it with a "Powered-USB-Hub" - keep us posted :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  19. csrini1

    csrini1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yes, the 4 port usb hub works.
     
  20. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    "Tip: Using Remote App (with Android phone, iPhone or tablets) to control TV, AVR & STB requires CoStar’s Remote IR blaster,· Make sure the CoStar’s Remote control is placed in sight of all the components (as the IR blaster is built-in CoStar’s Remote).]"




    The co-star does not work in this fashion. Please see here. Dunno if a usb connected ir blaster would work, I don't have one to test.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
connect vizio co star with pc
,

connecting vizio xra700 to pc

,

converting vizio co star signal to old tv

,

reset vizio co star remote

,

vizio co star reboot button remote

,
vizio co star reset
,

vizio co star video input not available

,

vizio co-star remote pairing

,

vizio co-star reset

,

vizio stream player troubleshooting