Quantcast

Choosing between 55G2 and 55GA6400

Discussion in 'LG Internet TV' started by googleyed, Apr 23, 2013.

1. googleyed

googleyed New Member

Hi All... forum noob here. Am trying to make up my mind whether to go for a 55G2 or 55GA6400. Been looking around the web and gone through the tech specs but haven't been able to find any major improvements that the newer model has except for 12W audio output instead of 10W and mobile phone connectivity enhancements. Suggestions? Opinions?

2. Peteo

Peteo Member

I have the 47GA6400 if you look @ the specs they look the same, but some one else posted the CPU of this model is newer and faster and LG has not updated the ga6400 page with the new specs. I'm not sure if this is true. I recommend calling LG to find out since the g2 model should be cheaper now. My set comes with 512mb of ram and 4gb of flash storage.
    both sets come with google tv version 3, not sure if the G2 has a mic on the remote. Though dont use voice much so it probably does not matter. I like the GA6400, picture is nice and google TV is good, though it has its quirks. Also onlive app does not work right now. LG will be releasing an update @ some point to fix the issue.

3. Fomol620

Fomol620 Active Member

the GA does have a faster CPU...has more storage 2gb vs 4gb. has a better designed remote. i would choose the GA

4. CatfishRivers

CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

Can you please post a link that confirms the GA actually has a faster CPU? Otherwise - please excuse me for "not taking your word for it" -;)

In fact on the LG web site it says that their new GA GTV televisions use the "L9 dual core CPU" (see link below):

http://www.lg.com/us/tvs/lg-47GA7900-led-tv

The G2 series GTV televisions also use a "L9 dual core CPU". IMO it would be likely that if the CPU on the GA series was a different faster processor - it would have a different model number. (Such as the L10 dual core CPU). But it doesn't.