Quantcast

can't update and can't download apps from play store

Discussion in 'Sony's NSZ-GS8 / NSZ-GS7' started by leshaun1980, Nov 12, 2012.

1. leshaun1980

leshaun1980 New Member

I just bought my sony player and connected it to my network. I can look at youtube and netflix and anything on the internet just fine. I can't update it to the latest build. Whenever I go to update it says checking for updates. I have left it on that screen for up to an hour and nothing happens. also whenever I go to the play store and try to download an app it says loading under the app and that's it.

Any help would be appreciated. I have talked to sony numerous times and they insist that something is wrong with my internet provider. I doubt this is true because I am a technician for my internet provider and I have checked, double checked and triple checked my internet.

2. revue5

revue5 Well-Known Member

3. leshaun1980

leshaun1980 New Member

Thanks,

I've tried all of those except the factory-reset then create a new google account.

4. CatfishRivers

CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

Are you connected to internet by Wi-Fi or ethernet? As a troubleshooting measure can you try removing your router from your setup and connecting directly to modem.

If you are currently connected by ethernet - then try connecting by Wi-Fi.

As you can see from the following thread (see link below) - other Google TV users are having similar issues:

http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/sonys-nsz-gs7/6554-youtube-upgrade.html

There probably is nothing wrong your internet service - there is a quirk in the way that GTV interacts with some routers and this is the usual cause for your symptoms that you mentioned. Please read the thread that I linked to above carefully. There are some troubleshooting measures that you can try. Such as setting a static IP.

Last edited: Nov 13, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  5. delboy

delboy New Member