Quantcast

Can't sync remote with player, connection prompt won't show up

Discussion in 'Sony Blu-Ray Set Top Box' started by klosterdev, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. klosterdev

    klosterdev New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all,

    I powered up my new blu-ray box today, and had a problem. When I tried to sync my remote to it, nothing popped up, even when I held down "connect" for a considerable amount of time. When I power it up, it's stuck on a "maximize your screen area" screen.

    $maxscreenarea.jpg

    I tried both holding down only "fn" (like the Sony site says) and holding down fn+enter. I've done it both while holding down, and after holding down the connect button.

    How do I get the connection prompt to pop up, or sync it at all?
     
  2. 1394

    1394 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any luck? my new sony google tv wont initialize the connection prompt either. im going to exchange the entire unit tomorrow. tried troubleshooting like you and even chatted with tech support with no luck. has to be a software problem.
     
  3. klosterdev

    klosterdev New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing. Still won't react to the remote.
     
  4. Inquisitor

    Inquisitor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this problem when I first purchased my unit. I had to get a USB keyboard to go through the setup the first time. Then you can connect the supplied remote after the first firmware download. Seems backwards, but it works.
     
  5. klosterdev

    klosterdev New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Holy cow it worked! Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2012

Share This Page