Quantcast

Black Screen on Spotlight Channels sponsored by Ad Rise

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by costar12210, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. costar12210

    costar12210 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi:
    Anyone else experiencing a black screen on any of the ad rise sponsored channels under TV spotlight.?
    Theses channels are watch mojo, vanguard, comedy time, AOC, and meta tube to name a few. Has been like this
    for a few days. No problem with selecting what you want to watch but loads a black screen with the time slider and
    audio but no video.
     
  2. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Hi Costar

    Yes, that used to happen to me when I accessed the sites in Chrome. Have you tried accessing the sites from the Open Launcher app. It's free! This app has a dedicated native app that provides direct links to all Spotlight sites. I just tried Vanguard and it played flawlessly. Btw, this app will not conflict w/any launcher you may currently be using. Also you will still have access to the Default launcher.

    Carl
     
  3. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I just went to Vanguard through Spotlight, the ad played and the movie loaded, played fine for a few minutes, no black screen issue at all. I had randomly selected Animal Room.
     
  4. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,605
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would try in this order (after each step check and see if it fixes the problem before trying the next step):

    1) reboot

    2) got to settings then force stop and clear data from Chrome.

    3) factory reset.
     
  5. costar12210

    costar12210 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks to all for the tips and advice, but I have done all the resets, reboots, etc and the problem remains! Vizio suggested I try the device on a different network to see if that helps. I don't believe it is a network issuse as my speed was higher than that of the people at Vizio and they had no problems viewing. I also have a Roku 2XS and Samsung Smart TV, both have Vanguard and there is no problems at all with the streaming. I even tried going thru Chrome and entering the URL which produced the same results.
    BTW, Carl, I like that open launcher didn't know that was out there.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Hi

    Glad ya like the Launcher. Sorry you can't watch the videos.I haven't seen any other Vizio Co-Star users other than yerself chiming in. Maybe this is a problem exclusive to Vizio units. Have you tried asking Wisdom if there might be a problem that ya'll are all having.

    Hey, Vizio folks, where are ya???

    Carl
     

Share This Page