Quantcast

Best Setup and Alternative Setup

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by broey6, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. broey6

    broey6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just purchased the L Revue and am trying to figure out the best way to set it up to get the most out of it.
    Here are the components in play: Logitech Revue, Motorola STB (Comcast), Yamaha AV Receiver (5 HDMI ports), Samsung Blue Ray, Samsung LED, Yamaha iPod Dock (irrelevant?).

    I currently have the Logitech out to the Yamaha HDMI port. Does it need to be connected to the STB?

    Any assistance, best practices would be helpful. Thx
     
  2. galfert

    galfert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Yes. Cable Box to Revue then to Receiver. See attached picture

    $connections.JPG
     
  3. TheSanTechnologist

    TheSanTechnologist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0

    This isn't going to work in your configuration. So far the Motorola STBs from Comcast have an HDCP connection limitation. Your best bet for your configuration will be


    Comcast STB -> Revue -> TV (all HDMI)
    Comcast STB ->Receiver (TOSLINK/SPDIF)
    Revue -> Receiver (TOSLINK/SPDIF) if you have another port.


    You'll find if you try to link all the components through your Receiver you'll either get blank screen, or you'll get an error about HDMI connections.
     
  4. galfert

    galfert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ah good point on the Comcast deal. But the Comcast STB TOSLINK/SPDIF to Receiver seems redundant. Or is that because of limitations in audio coming out of the Revue?
     
  5. rtalain

    rtalain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same question. Based on the above post, I just moved the TOSLINK from the TV output to the Revue output and everything seems fine (had some audio lag before), but will I gain anything by adding the TOSLINK from the Comcast box to the AV Receiver?
     
  6. broey6

    broey6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the assistance; i dont know what SPDIF or TOSLINK is though?
     
  7. harley man

    harley man New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  8. TheSanTechnologist

    TheSanTechnologist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes...advanced audio aspects from the cable box, however, it should be pretty much the same as running Optical Audio from the Revue to the AVR. (plus will eliminate the need to change audio sources)
     
  9. joemeter

    joemeter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just purchased sony google tv nsz-gt1 and am trying to hook it up to my av receiver which is a yamaha.i have tried numerous setup configurations including the diagram that came with google box without much luck.the receiver hdmi settings do not show picture on tv when hdmi port is selected on receiver.my stb is verizon fios.i have tried using the setup from my old blu-ray player with no luck.does anybody have wiring suggestions or diagram



    stb-verizon fios
    sony google tv
    yamaha receiver
    samsung 46" smart tv
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011
  10. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    This is the configuration I would set it up with;

    • stb-verizon fios (HDMI)> sony google tv (HDMI)> yamaha receiver (HDMI)> samsung 46" smart tv

    However, if you're having problems with it. Try using a process of elimination to see where the problem lies. I'd first try

    1. sony google tv (HDMI)> samsung 46" smart tv
    2. sony google tv (HDMI)> yamaha receiver (HDMI)> samsung 46" smart tv
    3. stb-verizon fios (HDMI)> sony google tv (HDMI)> samsung 46" smart tv
    4. stb-verizon fios (HDMI)> sony google tv (HDMI)> yamaha receiver (HDMI)> samsung 46" smart tv
    After swapping around units and cables, you should be able to get a better understanding where the break in communication lies.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to connect sony nsz gt1 to verizon fios

,

troubleshoot logitech google tv switch from cablevision to verizon

,

wiring diagram for yamaha hd receiver tv and fios