Quantcast

AUSTRALIAN revue user needs to manually enter network settings (DNS)

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by wgrayc, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. wgrayc

    wgrayc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Guys,

    First of all already had some pretty great help from this site with a DLNA question and I'm really impressed with the community.

    I'm a bit of an iOS junkie and ordered my first Android product, a Revue from the US for my Mum to use as a Catch Up TV viewer (Australian sites) and for podcasts etc I send on USB drive.

    As expected, all of the US content is blocked, but if I could manually set the DNS server, we could get around it like I do with my Apple TV and access US sites and my Netflix membership. I have searched and searched with no luck.

    Does anyone know how to manually enter network settings into the Revue so I can set the DNS server?

    Thanks in advance guys/girls!
     
  2. towboy123

    towboy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OBX of NC
    You can not manually enter network settings on 2.1 in the latest 3.1 leak you can indeed do a manual setup
     
  3. DefenderBob

    DefenderBob New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a reliable DNS that I have used in the past is 4.2.2.2
     
  4. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    One way is to use a separate router where you can manually alter the DNS server addresses. The Revue will be in a separate network than the rest of your network. Think of it as a "super militarized zone".
     
  5. stuberman

    stuberman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    You can also use 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 which are Google's DNS servers. The address above is for Verizon servers.
     
  6. wgrayc

    wgrayc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here I am paying for a dns like a sucker! Once I'm done I'll put up a post about using a revue in Australia and what you can / can't do and how to get us content because someone similar sure doesn't exist onlineWe setup up 'Mezzmo' which looked pretty set-and-forget with a video on mums desktop in case she needs to do anything with it. We will see how it all goes without me thereI'm a pretty serious apple fanboy and we are loving this Revue, sort of wish I hadnt given it to my mum haha. I think with th new update I'll probably get another for myself
     
  7. IronLionZion

    IronLionZion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'm from Israel and had the same issue.

    i bought a subscrition at at unblock-us.com and changed the DNS entries in my router ,
    and i can get all of the US content with no problems.
     

Share This Page