Quantcast

App Question

Discussion in 'Google TV Apps' started by arthurportas, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. arthurportas

    arthurportas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    i'm new to google tv app dev, but i used to develop for android. I wonder if it is possible to run a widget on top of a tv program?
    For example, 'the weakest link', and a widget over the show displaying the questions.

    I now i can run full screen apps, but have this question about widgets.
    Actually i don't have an google tv neither google tv emulator...

    thanks,
     
  2. frmorrison

    frmorrison New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Google TV can overlay with the TV. For example, I can load a Wikipedia webpage and then on the corner (movable to each corner) is the TV program I am watching. The TV overlay can take 1/8 or 1/4 of the screen.
     
  3. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I had read a month or two ago that some GTV app developers were disappointed that Google was limiting the way that GTV apps could interact with live TV programming. However I'm not a developer so I can't answer your question with 100% certainty. I suggest you ask your question on the GTV forum for android developers (the Forum is monitored by Google employees and you will get a definite answer to your question). Here's the link:

    Google TV Android Forum | Google Groups
     
  4. trin20t

    trin20t New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    That is the picture in picture feature. It only works for tv. As of yet not even the leaked builds have an overlay for apps.
     
  5. arthurportas

    arthurportas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, thanks for the answers.
    I'll try android forum... PIP is not supported for running apps and is not what i'm looking for.
    I want to load an widget on top of tv show.
     

Share This Page